Your Questions Answered
Q. What activities are covered under the hoisting regulations?
A: The regulations, appearing in 520 CMR 6.00, apply to any hoisting machinery where the height of the lift exceeds ten feet or the weight of the load exceeds 500 pounds or the capacity of the bucket exceeds 1/4 cubic yard capacity. See 520 CMR 6.01.
Q. Who must have a hoisting operator’s license?
A. Anyone who will operate derricks, cableways, machinery used for discharging cargoes, temporary elevator cars used on excavation work or used for hoisting building material, when the motive power to operate such machinery is mechanical and other than steam, must hold a license from the Department.See M.G.L. c. 146, §53.
Q. Can I renew my Hoisting license on the website?
A. No, not at this time.
Q. How old do I have to be to obtain a hoisting license?
A. You must be 18 years of age or older.
Q. Do I need to fill out my own application?
A: No, Mass Hoisting Training, Inc. will take care of all your paperwork. You must posses a valid and current driver’s license and DOT Health card to operate hoisting machinery. You will need your license and DOT health card the day of the class.
Q. What if I am denied an examination because I do not posses the minimum qualifications for the license?
A. You may appeal to the Chief who will appoint three Board members to hear the appeal. See 520 CMR 6.03.
Q. What is on the Hoisting Operator examination?
A. The exam tests practical knowledge of all working parts of the hoisting machinery, safe operating practices, safety inspection of the equipment, hand signals, and the Massachusetts State Statutes and Regulations. You should have a thorough knowledge of Massachusetts General Laws, c.146, §§ 53-55, and §§ 64-67. You should also have a thorough knowledge of the Massachusetts Regulations 520 CMR 6.00 for hoisting machinery.
Q. Are there any study aids available for the Hoisting Operator examination?
A. Mass Hoisting Training, Inc. will provide you with these materials the day of the class.
Q. Is there any exemption from the requirement to produce a copy of my D.O.T. physical?
A. No. No one is exempt. You must provide a copy of your D.O.T physical.
Q. Do I need a license to operate hoisting machinery on my own property?
A. Yes. Provided the rental company has an approved program, the hoisting machinery regulations allow individuals renting hoisting machinery to obtain a temporary license from the rental company, receive one (1) hour of training from the company and allow a fourteen (14) consecutive day rental period . See 520 6.05(11).
Q. How do I obtain a hoisting license if I am renting equipment from a rental company?
A. Provided the rental company has an approved program, homeowners may rent hoisting machinery from a rental company for a period of time not to exceed fourteen (14) consecutive days. The rental company must provide one (1) hour of training for each type of equipment rented, and renters must be trained in the “proper and safe operation” of the equipment. After the training, the rental company must issue a temporary license to operate the rented equipment. See 520 CMR 6.05 (11).
Q. How long is my temporary hoisting license valid?
A. The temporary license and rental of equipment cannot exceed 14 days. See 520 CMR 6.05(11).
Q. How many questions are on the test?
A. The test will be about 50 – 60 multiple choice questions, and you must score a 70% or above to pass.
Q. Do I need a hoisting license to operate hoisting machinery exclusively for agricultural purposes?
A. No. M.G.L. c. 146, § 53 provides an exemption for hoisting machinery used exclusively for agricultural purposes.
Q. Are there any other exemptions to the licensing requirements?
A. Aside from the agricultural exemption (see above), Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 146, Section 53 allows for two additional exemptions: (1) for public utility companies that have “self propelled truck mounted cranes, derricks and similar hoisting equipment which is used for the maintenance and construction of the equipment of such company and which has at least one supervisory employee who holds a license issued by the department and is designated as the responsible person in charge of hoisting equipment.” (2) for any other company which has equipment such as cranes, derricks and similar hoisting equipment used only upon utility company property. These exemptions apply only if such companies have an in service training program for employees approved by the department and “the company issues each trained and certified employee a company license.”
Q. Do you offer any type of discount?
A. Yes, we offer a group discount. Groups of 5 or more may receive $25 off per person. Groups of 10 or more may receive $50 off per person. Please contact Bob at 774-222-2297 or firstname.lastname@example.org for promo code prior to checking out.
Q. After I have taken the class, where do I go to take my tests?
A. Your testing location is determined by the area you work in. Below are the testing locations based on work locations.
North Shore: Bunker Hill Community College
South Shore: Holiday Inn, Taunton, MA
Worcester Area: Devens Common Center, Devens, MA
Western Part of MA: Mullins Center at UMass Amherst